top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy

'Sea-it all-World': When Blackfish gave the public a backstage pass to the house of horror

I view ethics as a very personal concept. What is right for one may be wrong for another. As long as one acts with the right intentions, I would view them as acting in an ethical manner. The issue with this view is it’s very subjective and can’t exactly be quantified – rules and laws do not work when they are subjective. I would say my current view on ethics is that of a relativist; we can have different views on subjects and that is fine with me, although my ethical stance changes regularly and I can also consider myself an absolutist.

A prominent issue that comes to my mind when I think of ethical issues is the ongoing movement with SeaWorld and Orca’s kept in captivity. I will openly state I think keeping Whales within captivity for entertainment is wrong, but you may disagree and the relativist within me is happy to hear why (please share your views below!), but the absolutist within me knows my opinion cannot be changed.


Sea World found themselves caked across the headlines in 2013 after the release of Cowperthwaite’s documentary ‘Blackfish’. The film focused on one particular killer whale, Tilikum, who murdered several individuals during his life in captivity. If you have not already watched this documentary, I highly recommend you do.

The public, much like myself, appeared to take an absolutist approach to this ethical catastrophe and were appalled at Sea World’s behaviour highlighted within the film, and their reaction to the issues that had been highlighted from it. Sea World however appeared to follow a more relativist line, viewing the Orca’s behaviour subjective to their staff and not their environment – rather shifting the blame. One of the trainer’s Tilikum killed, Dawn Brancheau, was blamed by Sea World for having her hair in a ponytail which Sea World claimed enticed Tilikum to play, and thus dragging her to her death. They could not take blame for the killing as the tragedy was instead the fault of Dawn herself and was just circumstantial.

Blackfish highlighted a lot that was wrong with how Sea World has run their parks over the years, some of which they have learnt from, but sadly there is still a long way to go.


What are your ethical views on this matter? Do you also find yours change from story to story or are you hard set on your basic ideals? Please leave a comment and your feedback below.

11 views0 comments
bottom of page